Awesome

(Written for the January Blog Carnival hosted by A Writer in a Wheelchair http://writerinawheelchair.blogspot.com/2012/01/it-only-words.html)

 

I’ve recently become a huge fan of Warehouse 13. I think Artie and Pete are adorable, Claudia’s awesome, and that Myka and HG Wells are totally and completely in love. In season 3, the villain is a wheelchair user and the camera lingers on the villain’s wheels while cuing the evil music.

Honestly, it’s one of the ugliest wheelchairs I’ve ever seen, one of the standard hospital issue chairs that everyone looks at with dread. Well, if I had to use one of those for thirty years I’d be evil too.

Personally, I prefer my gimp toys to be full of pizzazz. My cane is black with flames on it (the Dr. House flame cane replica of course), my crutches are light blue with white polka dots, and my wheelchair is bright purple with light-up caster wheels. Did I spend more money on them? You betchya. Was it worth it? Most definitely.

I’ve been trying to come up with a word that defines the New Year. It turns out this is a thing for some people and I’m beginning to like the idea. At first, I couldn’t decide between ‘pizzazz, innovation, pride, or determination.’ And then I realized, I don’t have to.

So I picked ‘awesome.’

Okay, fine, so that’s always been my word. Apart from swear words, I think ‘awesome’ is used most often in my vocabulary, but why not? Awesome is an awesome word. My cane is awesome. My crutches are awesome. My chair is awesome. And I like to believe that I am awesome.

The Warehouse 13 villain most certainly does not have an awesome chair. Come on, if you’re going to cue evil music whenever the camera looks down at the wheels, I better be seeing spokes made out of human bones, handlebars made out of skulls, and Edgar Allen Poe style creaking. Now that would be awesome.

A lot of people seem to have difficulty in equating awesome with disabled. I personally think that’s ridiculous. Apparently if we’re not climbing a mountain in a wheelchair, that means we’re just pitiable. Come on, when was the last time you climbed a mountain? Hmmm? I thought so.

In my made up dictionary, ‘awesome’ is a combination of pizzazz, innovation, pride, and determination. You cannot have determination without some sort of sense of pride and you cannot succeed at whatever you’re determined to do without innovation, and pizzazz just makes life a bit more exciting.

Awesome is doing what you love no matter what everyone else says.

Awesome is doing what you love no matter what that negative voice in your head says.

Awesome is sticking your tongue out at staring strangers.

Awesome is giving your niece wheelchair rides.

Awesome is coming up with ridiculous answers to people’s ridiculous questions.

Awesome is matching your favorite outfits to your gimp toys.

And so on and on. You all get the picture.

This year I’m going to be awesome. Able-bodies hold your pity please. Hold your stories of brave and inspiring. I’m just going to be more awesome than I’ve ever been. So deal with it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

