100 Great Gimp Moments (#1)

100 Great Gimp Moments

Yup, you heard me. Great gimp moments. No, it’s not an oxymoron. I know there is a lot of people out there who think that being disabled is a terrible, horrible thing that they wouldn’t wish on their worst enemey. I know that there are people who think that us disabled people are better off dead. I know that there’s people who think we spend our entire lives hoping for a cure.

In the context of my life? That’s a load of bull. Sure, I do have crappy days, but I have good days, just like any other human being. In no specific order, here’s the first Great Gimp Moment.

Great Gimp Moment #1

It happened early on, during the beginning of my adjustment period. I was wheeling down the bead aisle of a Michael’s craft store, unsuccessfully trying to find fixative. I was in my first chair (i.e. the one that hadn’t been borrowed), all black, still bulky and not quite fitted right for me.

I passed a small girl who watched me with wide eyes. I always try to smile and wave at little kids because they’re cute and I want them to know that even though I look different, that I’m not scary. (Obviously, I have different rules for adults. They’re more likely to get glared at for staring.)

The girl didn’t say anything until I went down another aisle and all of a sudden I heard a loud voice ask, “Mommy, can I have a wheel, wheelchair?”

I was both blushing bright red and trying to stifle my laughter.

I could hear the awkwardness in the mother’s voice as she tried to gently tell her daughter, “No, you can’t.”

Like any child she spoke up, “Why not?!”

There was a dramatic pause before mother sighed and said, “Because…you’re a young…and healthy girl.”

I knew that the mother had seen me when we passed by and that she quickly realized that ‘young’ wasn’t quite the right word. Luckily for the mother, there was a boy that was with her that wanted something sparkly that focused both their attention elsewhere.

I love how adorable kids can be and how simple they seem to make things in life. The little girl saw something she liked, wanted it, and when told no, she asked why not.

You see, some kids know wheelchairs are cool.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 100 Great Gimp Moments (#1)

  1. Amananta says:

    Ha! Did you ever read Bloom County?

Leave a Reply

