100 Great Gimp Moments (#2)

“Oh god, you’re one of those ones!”

I slammed my caster wheels back to the ground and quickly spun around with a broad grin.

“It’s okay,” my mother said, “she’s got her anti-tippers on”.

“Yeah, it’s pretty awkward going to an urgent care and having explain that no you’ve never injured your spine before but you’re worried about it now.'”

The employee smiled and shook his head.

Apparently, he was unimpressed with my wheelies. But soon enough, he brought me over to the reason I was waiting. Back to my car.

After almost two months, I was finally going back to my car. The parts had come in. The parts were actually installed in my car, and I could finally drive again. He led me back to my car where I just stared excitedly at it.

“Can I get in it?” I asked.

He said yes and I never transferred from my wheelchair faster. The employee explained the push/pull controls and put in a guard for the gas pedal. Then I asked if I could try the controls out. He said it was fine and I backed out of the area and took my car for a spin around the parking lot.

I left my wheelchair behind.

For a few minutes, it was just me and the car. And it was wonderful. Not for the lack of the wheelchair, but because my car had suddenly been made so accessible to me that I wasn’t worried about getting around. I had my freedom back.

Of course, later I learned that they didn’t actually expect me to take the car around the parking lot. Oh well.

I’ve been driving every day since I’ve gotten my car back. And it’s wonderful.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 100 Great Gimp Moments (#2)

  1. Exceptional read, I just now passed this onto a friend who had been doing some homework on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I uncovered it for him smile Therefore let me rephrase that: Thanks a lot just for dinner!

Leave a Reply

